skip to content

Our Media



2016 Florida Sheriffs Academy Prepares New Sheriffs

December 13, 2016

The Florida Sheriffs Association values integrity, fairness, commitment, and accountability which are the foundation for the 2016 Florida Sheriffs Academy. This specialized course guides newly-elected or newly-appointed Florida sheriffs in obtaining these values and provides an exceptionally informative and educational experience that is essential for the next generation of leaders. From December 4 – 9, 2016, current Florida sheriffs and association staff facilitated this training and provided opportunities for the new sheriffs to participate in seminars, engage in social events, and network with many of Florida’s leaders.

“It is truly an honor to be the president of the Florida Sheriffs Association at this historic time,” said Orange County Sheriff and FSA President Jerry Demings. “I have no doubt the 25 newly elected in the state of Florida will serve their counties, state, and nation with distinction and honor.”

The Florida Sheriffs Academy provides a comprehensive curriculum and offers programs on leadership skills, business and personal ethics, management training, and other topics that relate to the law enforcement profession. Each of the 25 Sheriffs-Elect participated in a variety of events including mentoring sessions, leadership training, and dinner with Florida Governor Rick Scott. Two additional sheriffs were also included in the class because they won their respective elections after the 2012 academy (Sheriff Brad Whitehead of Union County and Sheriff Mike Williams of Duval County).  The Academy provides the information and tools to develop outstanding leaders within the Florida Sheriffs Association and create an understanding of their communities in every aspect.

2016 Florida Sheriffs Academy

The Florida Sheriffs Association congratulates the following graduates of the 2016 Florida Sheriffs Academy:

Sheriff Scotty Rhoden, Baker County
Sheriff Tommy Ford, Bay County
Sheriff Mike Prendergast, Citrus County
Sheriff Darryl Daniels, Clay County
Sheriff Jim Potter, DeSoto County
Sheriff Mike Williams, Duval County
Sheriff Rick Staly, Flagler County
Sheriff A.J. Smith, Franklin County
Sheriff David Hardin, Glades County
Sheriff Paul Blackman, Highlands County
Sheriff John Tate, Holmes County
Sheriff Peyton Grinnell, Lake County
Sheriff Walt McNeil, Leon County 
Sheriff Eddie Joe White, Liberty County
Sheriff Rick Wells, Manatee County
Sheriff Billy Woods, Marion County
Sheriff Noel Stephen, Okeechobee County
Sheriff Russell Gibson, Osceola County
Sheriff Gator Deloach, Putnam County
Sheriff Bob Johnson, Santa Rosa County
Sheriff Dennis Lemma, Seminole County
Sheriff Sam St. John, Suwannee County
Sheriff Wayne Padgett, Taylor County
Sheriff Brad Whitehead, Union County
Sheriff Mike Chitwood, Volusia County
Sheriff Jared Miller, Wakulla County
Sheriff Kevin Crews, Washington County