skip to content

Who We Are


Officers and Board of Directors

FSA President

Welcome to the official FSA website

I am pleased to serve as the President of the Association during the next year. You will find information about the Office of Sheriff and the sheriffs currently serving Florida’s 67 counties. In the United States of America, sheriffs have long played a significant role in preserving peace and justice as we protect and serve the people.

The FSA has been in existence since 1893 and is one of the oldest professional law enforcement associations in the nation. Our mission as an Association is to foster the effectiveness of the sheriffs through leadership, innovation, legislative initiatives, education and training, while providing a unified voice for the protection of Florida’s citizens and visitors. We are law enforcement leaders responsible for meeting the needs of 21st Century America. Our core principle includes having strong relationships with all communities throughout Florida by embracing community policing as a strategy.

The FSA recognizes and values the partnerships we have with our Honorary Members as well as with our business and law enforcement members. Thank you for your continued membership and support. If you are not an honorary member, please consider joining by completing the membership application found on our website. Again, welcome to our website and enjoy the journey!

~Sheriff Bill Leeper, Nassau County and FSA President

Committee meeting


The Board of Directors consists of three directors from each of the four districts in the State. The directors are nominated by a committee and are installed after a vote by the active members or current sheriffs. The Board of Directors are led by a Chair and a Vice-Chair who are elected from the 12 directors by a simple majority of those directors. Additionally, FSA has five elected officers: a President, a Vice-President, a Secretary, a Treasurer and an Immediate Past President. These officers are elected by the active members, except for the Immediate Past President who assumes the seat after serving as President. The President, the Chair, and the Board of Directors all have an active role in managing the affairs of the Association.

District 1

Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Wakulla, Walton, Washington

District 2

Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Madison, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns, Suwannee, Taylor, Union

District 3

Brevard, Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Indian River, Lake, Levy, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Seminole, Sumter, Volusia

District 4

Broward, Charlotte, Collier, Miami-Dade, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Lee, Manatee, Martin, Monroe, Okeechobee, Palm Beach, St. Lucie, Sarasota