skip to content

Who we are

About FSA

Sheriff Directory

Sheriff A.J. Smith

Sheriff A.J. Smith (R)

Franklin | View All Sheriffs

County Details

  • County Seat: Eastpoint
  • Population: 12,451


Bachelor’s degree, public administration, Barry University


Franklin County Sheriff’s Office, 1980-82, 1983-87; Florida Marine Patrol, 1983; Leon County Sheriff ’s Office, 1987-1992; Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, 1999-2005; Alcoholic Beverage & Tobacco, chief of law enforcement; Florida Department of Insurance, Division of State Fire Marshal, lieutenant special operations, 1992-1999; Walton County Sheriff’s Office, chief deputy, 2013-2016; elected Sheriff of Franklin County, 2016 and re-elected 2020.

Honors and Affiliations

Florida Deputy Sheriffs Association, President; Florida Police Chiefs Association; National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives, board member; Florida SWAT Association; National Tactical Officers Association; National Rifle Association, Life member; FDLE Chief Executive Seminar; FBI LEEDA since 2017; Ramp It Up, founding member; Apalachicola Chamber of Commerce; Carrabelle Chamber of Commerce; Florida Violent Crime and Drug Control Council; Forgotten Coast Parrot Head Club.