skip to content

Our Media



Florida Sheriffs Association Awards State Representatives

September 16, 2014

September 16, 2014, Tallahassee, FL – Each year, the Florida Sheriffs Association recognizes state legislators who have made significant contributions to criminal justice and public safety through their leadership. The Florida Sheriffs Association has identified those Florida legislators who gave critical support to FSA and Florida’s Sheriffs for bills we support, as well as working through bills of concern and helping us defeat those bills we opposed. 

During the 2014 session, there were a number of key legislators who the Sheriffs counted on to ensure a successful session. Fifteen Florida legislators have been chosen by the Florida Sheriffs Association to receive a legislative leadership award for supporting a strong public-safety agenda. Sheriffs throughout the state are presenting plaques to these legislators on behalf of FSA President and St. Johns County Sheriff David Shoar. 

This year FSA is recognizing:

  • Sen. Jack Latvalla to be presented by Pinellas County Sheriff Bob Gualtieri.
  • Sen. Charlie Dean to be presented by Columbia County Sheriff Mark Hunter.
  • Sen. Darren Soto to be presented by Orange County Sheriff Jerry Demings.
  • Sen. Denise Grimsley to be presented by Highlands County Sheriff Susan Benton and Polk County Sheriff Grady Judd.
  • Sen. Nancy Detert to be presented by Sarasota County Sheriff Tom Knight and Charlotte County Sheriff Bill Prummell.
  • Sen. Alan Hays to be presented by Lake County Sheriff Gary Borders, Marion County Sheriff Chris Blair, and Sumter County Sheriff William Farmer.
  • Sen. Aaron Bean to be presented by Jacksonville Sheriff John Rutherford and Nassau County Sheriff Bill Leeper.
  • Sen. Rob Bradley to be presented by Clay County Sheriff Rick Beseler, Alachua County Sheriff Sadie Darnell, and Bradford County Sheriff Gordon Smith.
  • Sen. David Simmons to be presented by Seminole County Sheriff Don Eslinger and Volusia County Sheriff Ben Johnson.
  • Sen. John Thrasher to be presented by St. Johns County Sheriff David Shoar and Volusia County Sheriff Ben Johnson.
  • Rep. Travis Cummings to be presented by Clay County Sheriff Rick Beseler.
  • Rep. Ray Pilon to be presented by Sarasota County Sheriff Tom Knight.
  • Rep. Greg Steube to be presented by Manatee County Sheriff Brad Steube and Sarasota County Sheriff Tom Knight.
  • Rep. Matt Hudson to be presented by Collier County Sheriff Kevin Rambosk.
  • Rep. Dave Kerner to be presented by Palm Beach County Sheriff Ric Bradshaw.


We will continue to work with our state representatives and senators to speak on behalf of the 67 Sheriffs, their staff, and all the members of the Florida Sheriffs Association on legislation geared toward keeping the state’s citizens and visitors safe. 

# # #