skip to content

Our Media



Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award Committee Reviews Applicants

June 05, 2013

Tallahassee, Fla. (June 5, 2013) – Today, the review committee met to consider 14 applications for the FSA’s Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award.  This award is presented to one person or a team of two for their exemplary service in the previous year. The Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award recipient will be announced and honored at the FSA Summer Conference in Marco Island (Collier County).  The winner will receive a night at the Marco Island Marriott Resort and $2,000.  

Each spring, Sheriffs have the opportunity to nominate someone from their office who has demonstrated praiseworthy work while in the line of duty. This year Sheriffs put forth many quality candidates that the review committee carefully considered. The committee consisted of several leaders in Florida law enforcement:

  • Silvester Dawson, Marshal of the Florida Supreme Court
  • Jay Etheridge, Deputy Chief Financial Officer
  • Lt. Col. Greg Gibson, Florida Fish and Wildlife Commission
  • Jennifer “Cookie” Pritt, Director of the Criminal Justice Professional Program at the Florida Department of Law Enforcement
  • A.J. Smith, Executive Director of the Florida Deputy Sheriffs Association and Major at the Walton County Sheriff’s Office

The FSA Summer Conference will be held from August 4 – 7, 2013 at the Marco Island Marriott Resort & Spa. For more information or to register, please visit: [url=][/url]