skip to content

Our Media



Florida Sheriffs Association Names New Board Leadership

July 15, 2015

The Florida Sheriffs Association (FSA), one of the largest and most successful state law-enforcement associations in the nation, is pleased to announce its leadership for the coming year. Alachua County Sheriff Sadie Darnell has been elected as President of FSA, and is the second female Sheriff to serve in this role. Sheriff Darnell will be responsible for presiding over the association, working with the staff and board of directors to guide the efforts and direction of the FSA and its 67 Sheriffs. 

“Sheriff Darnell is an outstanding leader; she will serve both the Florida Sheriffs Association and the people of the state of Florida as she has serves the people of Alachua County, with honor,” said FSA Executive Director Steve Casey. 

“It is an honor to be selected to serve as the FSA President by my peers, said Sheriff Darnell. “I look forward to honoring the great work of those that have come before me and welcome the opportunity to guide the efforts of the Florida Sheriffs Association.” 

Sheriff Darnell was sworn in as the first female Sheriff of Alachua County on November 14, 2006.  She was re-elected to a second term in November 2008 and a third term in 2012. She is a 30 year veteran of the Gainesville Police Department, having been promoted through the ranks to Police Captain. As Captain she held several commander positions; Patrol, Criminal Investigations, Narcotics, and Management Analysis before retiring in 2005. Sheriff Darnell holds a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership and a Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology from the University of Florida, and is a graduate of the John F. Kennedy School of Government Executive Program and the FBI National Academy in Quantico, Virginia.  

Other FSA Board Appointments are:

  • Vice President: Sheriff Jerry Demings
  • Secretary: Sheriff Brad Steube
  • Treasurer: Sheriff Mike Adkinson
  • Chair of the Board of Directors: Sheriff Mark Hunter
  • Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors: Sheriff Gordon Smith