skip to content

Our Media



Florida Sheriffs Association Names 2015 Legislative Champions

July 14, 2015

FSA LogoEach year, the Florida Sheriffs Association (FSA) recognizes state legislators who have made significant contributions to public safety by awarding them the title of FSA Legislative Champion. Last night, the Florida Sheriffs Association announced the recipients of the 2015 Legislative Champion awards during their Summer Conference in Broward County. 
2015 Florida Sheriffs Association’s Legislative Champions:

  • Rep. Shawn Harrison
  • Rep. Dave Kerner
  • Rep. Charles McBurney
  • Rep. Kathleen Peters
  • Rep. Carlos Trujillo
  • Sen. Rene Garcia
  • Sen. Denise Grimsley
  • Sen. Arthenia Joyner
  • Sen. Jack Latvala
  • Sen. Chris Smith

With the help of the sheriffs, their staff, and these very important state legislators, the Florida Sheriffs Association was able to effectively advocate for priorities that will create efficiencies for deputies through electronic notarization of work documents (HB 523) to increasing funding for crucial mental health training for deputies statewide ($800,000 state appropriation).  

FSA would like to honor legislators who worked tirelessly to ensure Floridians can easily remove unwanted house guests (HB 305), help strengthen civil citation programs for juveniles (SB 378), and stood with the sheriffs in supporting Florida’s strong civil asset forfeiture laws. Without their assistance these public safety initiatives would not have been possible.
The Florida Sheriffs Association will continue to work with our state representatives and senators on legislation geared toward keeping the state’s citizens and visitors safe. To learn more about our legislative priorities for the 2015 legislative session, please visit our Legislative Page.